Welcome to Leadership In Doubt

My name is Jae Knowlton and today I’m launching a blog called Leadership In Doubt. I’ve written a book with this same title that I intend to self-publish before the end of the year. The book details the integration of my faith and work lives, and how that has shaped my leadership journey. The blog is a way for me to connect with others who are on, have been on or are willing to explore a similar journey of their own.

I’m not a CEO and I don’t have an MBA; I’m just an EOL – an Everyday, Ordinary Leader. I worked in middle-management roles with a global call center organization for over 20 years, where I learned more about myself and my God-given potential than I could have imagined possible at the outset of my career. God has blessed me with a big dream, one in which this book and my story help and inspire other leaders in similar roles, leaders who may have a hard time relating to the leadership experiences of people who have reached the pinnacles of their professions.

I’ve come to believe that leaders who identify as Christians are most effective when engaged with God all 7 days of the week. That’s one of the most important things God has taught me in my leadership journey, although I don’t pretend that it was easy, or that I was always paying attention to the lessons. Doubt has been a constant companion along the way. Both the book and the blog will explore these lessons and what I learned (and failed to learn) from them.

Blogs are most effective when they’re interactive. People were made to live in community – even when it’s online – so whether you’re trying to figure out how your faith relates to your work life, or if you’ve already made some breakthroughs, I hope that you’ll share your perspectives here so that we can develop a community dedicated to exploring this theme.

It’s no coincidence that I’m launching this blog on Election Day in the U.S. I’m weary of and appalled by this election cycle and its ugliness. Both major candidates are deficient in praiseworthy attributes. Inspirational leadership could unite this country; instead, Americans across the political spectrum have become so polarized and intolerant that they’re assigning people the very worst motives simply because they see the world through a different lens. Inspirational political leadership in America today is very much in doubt. Yet whoever wins, God remains sovereign, and the outcome won’t catch Him by surprise. His ultimate purposes will be fulfilled regardless of who occupies the Oval Office.

Thanks for reading. My hope and prayer is that you see God show up in unexpected ways on your own leadership journey. Please check back for updates on the publication of Leadership In Doubt!

Author: Leadership In Doubt

Just another struggling leader, husband, father, writer trying to find his voice and offer something to the world around me.

Leave a comment