Q&A – 2

After my presentation last Monday, the Director of Job Seekers Network asked people to raise their hands if they had been working on (or sitting on) a writing project of their own. Quite a few hands went up, which helps explain why most of the questions I received related to writing. It makes me wonder how many books and other writing projects never see the light of day because people give up on them.

How did inviting God into your workplace impact the people around you?

God’s transformational work in me was a gradual thing, spread out over many years, so I doubt anyone would say they perceived any real difference in the way I conducted myself from day to day (although if any of my former colleagues reading this feel otherwise I would love to hear their perspective!).

I think I can best answer this question by sharing a story. One of my supervisors came into my office one day, terribly upset as the result of a recent, unexpected tragedy. While she sat in a chair alternately talking and sobbing, I knelt on the floor in front of her, just listening and holding her hands as needed. I’m probably exaggerating but I feel like we talked for at least 30-45 minutes. Afterwards I wasn’t worried about the cramps in my legs or the impact on my day; I felt honored to have been entrusted with her grieving, and I don’t think the person I was a couple of years earlier would have been.

Walking with God in my workplace opened my eyes and ears to the real needs of the people around me. I initially cried out to God because I was so wrapped up in my own pain and sorrow; He made it possible for me to care about and enter into the pain and sorrow of others, which made me a much more effective leader and person.

Author: Leadership In Doubt

Just another struggling leader, husband, father, writer trying to find his voice and offer something to the world around me.

Leave a Reply

